Bailey Battles Oulton Conditions for First Win of the Year

It was Morgan Bailey who stole the show in the second Milltek Sport Civic Cup race at Oulton Park. The #26 was quick off the line, working up from fifth to take a memorable win on an unusually cool July afternoon.

As is standard with the Civic Cup, the reverse grid format ensured that the top ten drivers were reversed for race two, putting Oliver Barsby on pole. Elsewhere, race one winner Bruce Winfield found himself starting from the back after a five place grid penalty for the red flag incident in race one lined him up in fifteenth.

Instead though it would be Max Lewis from third that got the best getaway, gaining the lead on the opening lap and attempting to bridge the field. Lewis had impressed many with his leap from sixteenth to seventh in race one and would be tough to dislodge from first. That didn’t stop Morgan Bailey from doing so though as the #26 overtook Bradley Lane, before attacking Lewis.

Lewis and Bailey continued to trade lap times as the race went on, but it would be the Lincolnshire lad who edged Lewis across the line. Unfortunately for the #71 though, his race was curtailed by a ten second penalty that would drop him to eighth in the overall standings.

Completing the podium would be the unflappable Winfield and Ben Mills. Winfield would cross the line just 1.7 seconds behind, setting a precedent for the year ahead. As for Mills, he’d been another who’d started towards the rear after a spin in race one, yet his eleven positions gained will be a wake up call for all those who doubt his racecraft in the FN2.

Mills would lead home a train of cars that included Bradley Lane and ever-impressive rookie Jamie Tonks, who after his maiden weekend lies fourth in the championship standings.

Paul Taylor gained three positions from his starting position though might be slightly disappointed to have lost further points to Winfield in the championship, as a time penalty for track limits dropped Alistair Camp down to seventh ahead of the penalised Lewis.

Rounding out the top ten would be Ross Darlington and Damian Harris, though fastest lap honours would instead go to eleventh place driver David Buky, who recorded a 1:58.781. From here, the Civic Cup now heads towards their standalone round at Thruxton on 23rd August.