Lewis Makes it Three Winners from Four Races in 2020

A third race winner in four races was crowned at Thruxton with Max Lewis winning not just the race, but the Forever Forward award, gaining an incredible eight places over the course of the event.

Starting from ninth on the grid, Lewis has been threatening the podium in recent rounds and at a new circuit to show his worth, remained out of trouble throughout collecting his first silverware of the year.

David Buky was one of the stars of the chaotic opening lap at Thruxton, gaining four places as Lewis and Winfield leaped seven places. An off-track excursion for polesitter Kevin O’Connor dropped him to the back of the grid before the end of the first lap handing the lead to the 32-year-old. Further problems would see the #99 pit before the flag as his fellow front-row starter Ryan Bensley suffered a continuation of his round one technical issues and failed to finish.

The leaders curse would continue though, as Buky, whose entrance to the weekend was only due to the hard work of his crew who had been awake until 04:30 in the morning, was cut short after a spin.

He continued, but an incident between himself and Morgan Bailey brought out the safety car.

Lewis would lead away Winfield and Alistair Camp at the restart, with a two lap sprint to the finish to conclude the thrilling Thruxton weekend. Winfield was eager to show his nose at the braking zones, but with the championship lead secure chose better than to risk a collision. He settled for second as Camp picked up his second podium of the weekend.

Alp-Williams passed Paul Taylor on the penultimate lap for fourth, further continuing the young 16-year-olds impressive form. Bradley Lane went one better than his Race 1 result to finish sixth, chasing down Taylor. Completing the leading group of cars across the line would be Jamie Tonks, who would be disappointed to have dropped position from flag to flag.

Rounding out the top ten would be Damien Harris, from the back of the grid, as well as Samuel Barrett and Ross Darlington.

The next Civic Cup round is at Silverstone on the 13th September.