Winfield Leads the Crowd after Silverstone Qualifying

Bruce Winfield took his second pole position of the year at Silverstone. The two-time race winner will look to continue his run of winning in every race one this year in the Milltek Civic Cup.

The championship leader was not prepared to drop a wheel in his title hunt, commanding proceedings throughout qualifying. Heading out onto the circuit early, the Derbyshire racer, was quick to set the benchmark on a dry, yet cold Silverstone track.

Morning rain had taken away the temperature on the road, ensuring that the tyres would quickly scrub past their best. Despite the twenty-minute session, few drivers would improve upon their times in the final 8 minutes.

Setting an absolute best of 1:05.942, Winfield took the fastest time, with Alistair Camp making it an all-Derby front row. Camp’s time of 1:06.098 got him to a mere 0.156 second deficit and is expected to be stiff competition for Winfield who will be looking to add a third victory to his name this year.

The ever-improving George Alp-Williams will start race one in third. Like the front row, he set his best lap in the opening stages and never looked threatened. As the youngest driver on the grid, the 17-year-old will have to prove his experience, as he challenges for his first podium of the season along with his fellow Area Motorsport teammates who each occupy the first three on the grid.

Joining him on the second row will be Max Lewis. The Worcestershire driver will be on form, after his win at Thruxton and sitting third in the standings could yet continue his forward momentum if he can make a clean getaway from the clean side of the grid. Equalled on points with him is Paul Taylor who lines up alongside him, setting a personal best only 0.14 seconds slower.

David Buky qualified sixth after a last lap dash pushing him onto the third row ahead of series returnee Martin Dalzell who makes his first appearance in the series since 2019. Meanwhile Jamie Tonks completes the fourth row as he looks to make a return to the top five.

Rounding out the order will be Damien Harris, Paul McHugh (who makes a reappearance after skipping Thruxton), Ross Darlington and Sam Barrett.