Sharpe takes race one win after early on track battle with Camp

Ben Sharpe carried on where he left off from Free Practice by taking his second race win of the season in a frantic first race at Donington Park as series leader Alistair Camp pushed the series returnee all way whilst Travis Coyne took his debut win in the series in the Production Class.

Camp led the way from pole position as Sharpe, Matt Luff, Jamie Tonks and Ryan Bensley fell in line and began pursuit of the championship in the early stages of the race.

By the end of lap one, Camp was out front ahead of Sharpe, and Luff with Morgan Bailey and Bensley having overtaken Tonks to get into the top five, however Camp ran wide at Redgate and this allowed Sharpe to attack and get in front the time they got to McLeans.

Tonks lost more ground further back as Gorge Alp-Williams passed him for eighth place, behind Bensley and the closing Martin Dalzell ads they battled for the lower half of the top ten in the Cup class.

Lap three saw a scary moment as Philip Wright spun his Civic coming out of the chicane, however all of the drivers who arrived on the scene managed to avoid him and Wright got going again, albeit down the field.

Tonks started to find his rhythm as he repassed Alp-Williams, and also passed Bensley who retired at the old hairpin, allowing Tonks up to sixth place behind Dalzell.

To add drama to what was an exciting race, Sharpe went off at the last corner before going on to win in Cup Class, ahead of Camp and Luff who completed the podium places whilst Bailey and Tionks completed the top five places ahead of Alp Williams in sixth place.

Dalzell crossed the line in seventh place ahead of Dave Buky ahead of Ross Darlington who completed the top ten.

The Production Class also enjoyed a good race as JamSport Racing’s Travis Coyne on his debut in the series managed to stay ahead of series points leader Alfie Threlfall, who was Coyne’s closest challenger all race in class.

Coyne led Alfie Threlfall early on with Mervyn Beckett, Mark Hughes and Simon Welch all in close attendance as the top five ran together for the early laps of the race.

Coyne would hold on to take his debut win in the Production Class from Alfie Threlfall with Beckett in third ahead of Hughes and Welch.

Completing the top ten were Matthew Stenning, Harry Threlfall, who lost a lap time in Qualifying due to track limits, Edward Sibbald with Nick Charlier in ninth place on his debut in the series and Lee Forinton.