Luff edges Camp in tight battle for first pole position of 2022

Matt Luff set out his stall to get 2022 off to the best start possible, by claiming pole position for the first race of the year at Cadwell Park on Bank Holiday Monday.

The Area Motorsport driver was locked into a battle for the coveted grid position with team-mate Alistair Camp from the start of the session, with times being traded during the early laps around the Lincolnshire circuit.

Luff secured pole position with a time of 1:37.060 with Camp lining up alongside on the front row, six tenths slower than his fellow EP3 Civic driver. Dan Thackeray set the third quickest time with two minutes of the session left, with Free Practice leader Morgan Bailey taking fourth place.

The top six are completed by George Alp-Williams in the third Area Motorsport EP3 and Max Lewis in the Mintro Motorsport EP3 whilst Cup class debutants Alfie Threlfall, Will Redford, Harvey Caton and series regular Ryan Bensley.

The third race grid has been determined by the second-fastest times set during qualifying, with Luff also taking pole position for the last race of the day ahead of Camp on the front row.

The battle for pole position in the Production Class continued from Free Practice as the Jeakins Race Preparation duo of Louis Hounsell and Alfie Jeakins took the fight to Kinetic Motorsports Dave Marshall.

All three drivers took turns at the top of the class during the fifteen minute session with Marshall going quickest early on with a 1.46.116 before Jeakins raised the bar to go faster on 1.45.374.

It didn’t take long for the times to tumble further as Jeakins knocked over two seconds off his time to go fastest in class with a 1.43.194. Both Hounsell and Marshall responded soon after as the three drivers gapped the remaining Production class entrants.

Marshall took the Production class pole ahead of Hounsell with Jeakins in third place. Simon Welch took fourth place ahead of Rhys Lewis and Mark Hughes.

With The third race grid has been determined by the second-fastest times set during qualifying with Marshall also taking pole position in class ahead of Hounsell and Jeakins in a copy of the race one grid.