Luff scores his first win of the year as Hounsell returns to the top step in Production

Matt Luff took control of the second Milltek Sport Civic Cup race to claim his first Cup class win of the year, as Loui Hounsell scored his second Production class win of the season at Oulton Park.

Cup Class

After post-race penalties were applied to the race one result, Harvey Caton found himself in pole position for the top ten reverse grid race, as Max Edmundson and Matt Luff chased the JWB Motorsport driver in the early stages.

The on-track action was frantic as the drivers dealt with the rising temperatures and the effects this was having on their brakes. Despite this, Caton held on before Edmundson moved past to take the lead on lap three, and two laps later Luff would move his Area Motorsport run EP3 into the lead past Edmundson.

As Caton fell to third and tried to defend, he held off an impressive company in the form of Dan Thackeray, Jack Harding, Morgan Bailey, Alistair Camp, George Alp-Williams, Ryan Bensley and Matthew Cripps who had all formed a train behind him.

Caton fell to sixth place on lap nine as Luff led from Harding, who had overtaken Thackeray, with places changing hand over fist in the following corners.

Luff held on for the win ahead of Harding and Bailey, with Camp making his way up from the lower reaches of the top ten to finish in fourth place ahead of Thackeray.

Edmundson held on for sixth place ahead of Alp-Williams with Bensley, Caton and Cripps completing the top ten points scorers.

Production Class

Loui Hounsell took his second Production class win of the year, after starting from the reversed grid class pole, keeping his Jeakins Race Preparation EP3 ahead of an exciting battle for second place.

Initially Alfie Jeakins was in second place in the early laps, however Dave Marshall was able to overcome his class rival to take second place in his Kinetic Motorsport FN2.

As the two drivers battled on during the 15 minute encounter, Jeakins was able to get the upper hand and claim second p;lace ahead of Marshall and fellow FN2 driver Mark Hughes.