Bailey takes commanding win as Jeakins continues his Production dominance

Round thirteen of the 2022 Milltek Sport Civic Cup was witness to Morgan Bailey converting his first pole position of the year into his fourth victory of the season, never being headed from the start.

At the start, Bailey took the lead into Paddock Hill Bend as Matt Luff fell in line behind the MLB Motorsport driver whilst both Alistair Camp and Dan Thackeray tried to get past the slow-starting Jack Harding, however, Harding held firm and was third on the run to Druids.

Will Redford was one of a number of drivers who struggled with Druids on cold tyres, as the Pro Alloys Racing driver slid wide on the opening lap and was back into recovery mode. Teammate Owen Hillman was out on the first lap after contact with Production Class pole-sitter Loui Hounsell also at Druids hairpin on the opening lap.

Morgan lead the way in the early stages from Luff and Harding whilst Thackeray was defending from Championship leader Camp, with Harvey Caton, Max Edmundson, Josh Harvey in the guest Pro Alloys Racing entry, Jordan Brennan and Jeff Alden in the Matrix Motorsport Civic FN2 completing the top ten.

Harding kept the pressure on Luff and went for the overtake on lap three, however, Harding went wide and ran through the gravel before re-joining the track before Druids hairpin, having lost a number of places as he dropped from third to seventh.

Harding got his recovery off to a good start, passing Edmundson for sixth place in a wonderful switchback manoeuvre that started at McLeans and was complete by the time they entered the start finish curve.

Morgan Bailey stayed ahead to take win number four with Matt Luff claiming an important second place in his title battle with Alistair Camp, who was fourth behind Thackeray with Jack Harding claiming fifth place after the demise of Josh Harvey at Paddock Hill Bend late on in the race.

Max Edmundson was sixth ahead of Will Redford, who recovered to take seventh place as Daniel MacDonald, Jordan Brennan and Jeff Alden, who will start from pole position for the second race of the day. Matthew Cripps and Harvey Caton were the final Cup class classified finishers, with Caton dropping back in the late stages of the race.

With both Simon Welch and Rhys Lewis not starting the race, Welch having blown his engine after qualifying, Alfie Jeakins took his ninth win of the year in the Production class with teammate Hounsell finishing second, two laps down.