Bailey takes win number five in final race thriller as Luff wins the 2022 Milltek Sport Civic Cup

The final round of the 2022 Milltek Sport Civic Cup provided spills and thrills as the Cup Class and Production Class titles went down to the final lap of the year on a much drier 200 layout at Snetterton.

The title situation in Cup was simple: Matt Luff now held the lead with his race two win, one point ahead of Alistair Camp, eight points ahead of Morgan Bailey with Dan Thackeray still in the hunt.

As the field made its way into Riches, Will Redford in the Pro Alloys Racing Civic took the lead from David Buky ahead of Bradley Lane and Morgan Bailey, as they sandwiched Camp on the run to Wilsons.

A few moments later and Camp was seen spinning into the barrier, making contact with the left rear of the Civic which ended his race, as the 2021 Champion tried his best to get back to the pits, despite several off-track excursions.

The excitement went up another notch as Buky spun out of third place at Nelson’s before rejoining further down the order, which at the end of the first lap was: Redford, Bailey, Lane, Thackeray, Harding, Luff, Max Edmundson and Jordan Brennan as Buky retired from the race.

Camp retired to the pitlane and was also joined by Owen Hillman in the second Pro Alloys Racing entry, bringing an end to his first full season in the Civic Cup. The 15-minute race continued to countdown as Redford extended his advantage to over five seconds ahead of Bailey.

Luff managed to pull off one of the moves of the year as he overtook Lane and Harding, Thackeray all in one pass that began at Murrays at the end of lap three and finished at Murrays at the end of lap four, four places in one lap!

Now in third place, Luff set his sights on Bailey ahead in an effort to try and stay out front as far as the points situation was concerned, but the race had more to offer as it reached the halfway point. Redford was still ahead of Bailey as Luff closed in with Thackeray in fourth place.

Harding also moved passed Lane for sixth place as Thackeray closed in on Bailey and Luff, with the three remaining tile contenders no line astern on track with four minutes left.

On the run to Wilsons hairpin, Luff was spun into the barriers but recovered the car as Lane made his way past the damaged Civic. Harding was still on a charge as now in third place he was closing on Bailey as out front, Redford was leading by twelve seconds before pulling to one side of the track after the bombhole with an issue.

With ninety seconds left on the clock, Thackeray now led from Bailey and Harding, who then both went side by side past Thackeray duelling for the lead. Side by side into Riches, Harding went wide, allowing Thackeray and Bailey to close up and bring in Brad Lane, with all three drivers side by side down the back straight in a three way fight for the lead.

Morgan Bailey took the win ahead of Bradley Lane, with Matt Luff classified in third place, securing his maiden Milltek Sport Civic Cup title as Dan Thackeray took fourth place after a post race penalty. Long time race leader Will Redford came home on fifth place ahead of Jack Harding, Harvey Caton, Jordan Brennan and Max Edmundson.

Alfie Jeakins claimed the Milltek Sport Civic Cup – Production title, finishing in second place to teammate Loui Hounsell, who took his fifth win of the year, but ultimately fell short of beating his teammate to the title.