Thackeray takes lights to flag victory at Snetterton

Dan Thackeray converted his pole position to a dominant win, in the first race of the Milltek Sport Civic Cup season at Snetterton.

Thackeray held the lead off the start with Morgan Bailey in tow with the 28-car field bunching up as they raced into Riches for the first time. The Hairpin proved to be a challenge on cold tyres as Harvey Caton locked up and slid wide.

Bailey was ahead of Thackeray by the time they reached Nelsons however the MJB Motorsports driver began to slow on lap three, handing the lead back to Thackeray, as he began to build a gap.

Jack Harding, who was running in the top three, went wide at the hairpin and lost several places, leaving Thackeray ahead of Redford, Louie Capozzoli, Max Edmundson, Ryan Bensley, Alistair Camp, Harding, Harvey Caton, Danny Hobson and Sam Nicolaou.

As the 15 minute race moved past the halfway point, Harding was on a mission as he made up places to run as high as fourth once again. Meanwhile the battle for eleventh place involved Alex Kite and Leonardo Panayiotou with the Pro Alloys Racing driver getting ahead of the Area Motorsport driver.

Dan Thackeray cruised to his first victory of the 2023 season, ahead of Will Redford with Louie Capozzoli taking his first podium in the championship and being the first ever winner of the Paul Winfield Trophy. Jack Harding was fourth ahead of Max Edmundson who completed the top five.

Alistair Camp was home in sixth place, ahead of Harvey Caton in seventh with Danny Hobson taking eighth place on his return. Sam Nicolaou and Daniel MacDonald completed the top ten places.

Leonardo Panayiotou reclaimed eleventh place ahead of Tommy Knight, Jack Ruddell, Alex Kite and Nick Charlier, who completed the top fifteen points scorers. Mark Hughes claimed the first Goodyear diamond Trophy for drivers aged 40 and over.

Thanks to his pole position and race one win, Thackeray has scored the maximum 46 points so far with race two taking place on Sunday at 11:15 am.

You can watch the Livestream here: RACE TWO LIVESTREAM